Uncategorized

Before Sunrise (1995)

Image

I don’t think I’ve watched a movie that has captured the art of a conversation so beautifully. What a great movie, so gentle that it gnawed into me. If you have an hour and 30 mins to spare do take time to watch it- superb.

 What the characters say and don’t say during their journey is what was so compelling, the simplicity and exaggeration of a conversation. Throughout the movie I was like “Oh yeah that’s so right”, “Oh my God I thought I was the only one who thought like that”, “Oh daamn stop it now”. You didn’t want it to end, you didn’t want that one day to be over.. It almost felt like you were a part of their growing romance, you had a say. Ethan Hawke’s cynical and over-thinking school of thought interlinked Julie Delpy’s overpowered hope and ambition. 

By the end of the movie, I just wanted to travel to Vienna and retrace the places they went to, I wanted to have someone I could share that weaved connection with- I wanted someone. 

 

Leave a Reply

